Reno Radio Control
September 07, 2010, 02:48:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Chat Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: WARNING: DO NOT CLICK  (Read 114 times)
Admin Babysitter
Domanuce
Administrator
Factory Pilot
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2653


RenoRadioControl Team Driver


« on: February 08, 2010, 09:48:19 AM »

Over the weekend some of you may have received a PM about a virus on your system. The message looked like this.

Important message from the forum administration!
« Sent to: Rich A on: Today at 04:50:32 PM »
   Reply with quoteReply with quote Remove this messageRemove
Dear, Rich A!

A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://security-tool2010.net/Rich A
----------------------------------------------------
Forum Administration www.morrisdesigncompany.com.


This is a scam. What eventually would happen is that your computer would become infected with some form of virus or attack. The way most of these outfits work is they tell you that you have a virus and they will help you fix it. You do the scan which puts the virus on your system and then they in turn will require compensation to remove the virus that they put on. Most of the time they do not remove the virus, but use it to extort more money from you. The forum has security in place to stop spammers that have machines that look for forums to place ads and attacks like these. But as most of you have seen in the past it will not stop an actual human from creating an account and posting these.

Please understand that you will never get a message from me or any of the administrators here at renoradiocontrol.com that has anything to do with your personal system.

Because this is a local forum many of you personally know me and know I would not send a PM out using any other user name that the one I use to make post. That is the reason why this issue was caught somewhat fast. As of right now there are only three global moderators on this site. They are AERacer40, Skeeno, and Admin Babysitter (Dragon). Any PM sent to you looking like it came from the administrators of this site will be from one of these user names. If it is not it should be taken as spam or as an attack and reported to me (Admin Babysitter)(Dragon) as soon as possible.

If by some reason you have clicked on the link in the PM and had some form of attack on your system please contact me. I know some of you are more than capable of taking care of your systems and protecting them from attacks like these, but for those that might not have the knowledge to do so I will try to help in any way I can to fix the problem. Please keep in mind that I am a web developer not a network security administrator.

If you have any questions, comments or tips for other forum members on attacks like this post them up!

Dragon
(RenoRadioControl.com, Admin)
Logged

"If you suck anymore apple wing-wang, you are going to have apple juice all over your face" - Yahoo commenter on iphone/touch gaming capabilities.
Bring it on
Factory Pilot
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571


WHAT'S NITRO?


« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 03:48:09 PM »

some people need to get a life.
Logged

TrueRc.com
Casterracingusa.com
Pantherteam.com
T-bone-racing.com
Diggitydesigns.com
2nd Place Stock Corr A main at The Dirt Nitro Challenge 2010
Special thanks to Mike Santiago for my paint jobs.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!


Google visited last this page August 03, 2010, 07:55:41 PM

Google visited last this page August 03, 2010, 07:55:41 PM